Vasant Navratri


    April 8, 2016

    Vasant Navratri

    Last Year (2015) 21st March to 29th March
    Present Year (2016) 8th April to 16th April
    Next Year (2017) 28th March to 5th April


    Vasant Navratri is also known as “Chaitra Navratri” where Chaitra is the months of Spring in Hindu calendar. Vasant and Navratri are Sanskrit words where Vasant means Spring and (Nav + Ratri) which literally means Nine Nights, in these nine-night people celebrate and worship for the Hindu female deity, Goddess Durga. These nine days of the Navratri dedicated to the nine forms of Goddess Durga.

    When is it celebrated?

    The festival of Navratri begins on the first day of Hindu lunar months of Chaitra which falls in the months of March and April of English Georgian Calendar. The Birthday of Lord Rama which falls on the ninth day of the Vasant Navratri known as Ram Navami and due to this Navratri  is also known as RamNavratri.

    How It Is Celebrated?

    Vasant Navratri is the time to renew or purify your thoughts through deliberation and reflection. These ten days and nine nights are the period of prime energy for imprinting our soul with the right perceptions and renew our emotional, intellectual and spiritual energy It is the best period to rewire our brains cell with creative as well as logical dendrites.

    The nine roops (forms) of  Durga which are worshipped during Navratri are :

    Day 1: Goddess Shailputri , Shail in Sanskrit means Mountains and Putri are also Sanskrit word which means daughter ,she is the daughter of Himalaya.

    Day 2: Goddess Brahmachaarini, which means penance and she personifies knowledge , love and wisdom.

    Day 3: Goddess Chadraghanta, she is the goddess Parvati after married to Shiva she crescents the half moon on her forehead and pacify the supreme bliss and known as goddess of peace.

    Day 4: Goddess Kushmaanda, she sits on a tiger and having eight arms with various weapons and known as the provider.

    Day 5: Goddess Skandmata, she differentiates the right from the wrong and provides knowledge.

    Day 6: Goddess Kaatyayini, she fights against the evil, darkness, and deceitful entities.

    Day 7: Goddess Kaalratri, she the one who killed the demon Raktabeej and known as the destroyer of evil, darkness and ignorance.

    Day 8:  Goddess  MahaGauri, she mounts on the bull with a trident and drum , spread peace and compassion.

    Day 9: Goddess Sidhidatri , she is a treasure of Mystic Power (Tantra and Mantra ).