Mahalakshmi Vrata


    August 29, 2017

    Mahalakshmi Vrata

    Last Year (2016) September 9th
    Present Year (2017) August 29th
    Next Year (2018) September 17th


    Mahalakshmi Vrata also called as Varalaksmi Vratha is performed by both men and women (mostly by married ladies) by observing fast. It is majorly celebrated in the southern Indian states of Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka, and Tamil Nadu and also in parts of Maharashtra and Odisha. A pooja is performed to seek the blessings of Goddess Laxmi who is the wife Lord Vishnu. Goddess Mahalaxmi symbolizes prosperity, wealth, light, wisdom, fortune, fertility, generosity and courage.

    When Is It Celebrated?       

    According to Hindu calendar, Mahalakshmi Vrata is observed on the Friday before the full moon in the month of Shravan in i.e August or September in the western calendar. Those who are unable to perform it on that day can do the pooja on another Friday of that month.

    How It Is Celebrated?

    On this precious day, women made rangolis in the front yard of their home. The whole house is cleaned and decorated with diyas. In the evening, women take a bath and dressed in traditional and beautiful clothes and jewelry. Non-vegetarian food must be avoided. A kalasha or sacred pot filled with water and decorated with betel leaves is arranged. It is important to keep a coconut (coating with turmeric) at the top of kalasha. The sacred kalasha is decorated with red cloth and a red thread is tied around it. To make it look more beautiful, some people use jewels to decorate Kalasha. A plate filled with rice is used to place the Kalasha. By worshipping the main pooja begins. It is believed that Ganesha expulses all the evil forces and obstacles. Later the Kalasha is worshiped as Goddess Laxmi. A couple of torams which is a bunch of nine threads with nine knots is worshipped and tie one of them to the kalasha and another is tied around the right-hand wrist of the woman performing the pooja. While performing the pooja, various mantras are recited like Satanamavali, Lakshmi Sahasranama stotra and Lakshmi Ashtottara. Goddess Laxmi is worshiped in eight different forms which are Shri Dhan Lakshmi Maa, Shri Veer Lakshmi Maa, Shri Gaj Lakshmi Maa, Shri Aishwarya Lakshmi Maa, Shri Vijya Lakshmi Maa, Shri Gaj Lakshmi Maa Shri, Adi Lakshmi Maa, Shri Dhanya Lakshmi Maa, and Shri Santan Lakshmi Maa. Various sweets are offered to Goddess Laxmi and women sing religious songs. In some parts, Vaibhav Lakshmi Vrat Katha is performed.


    Previous articleGood Friday
    Next articleOnam