Jain’s fasting Days


    May 25, 2020

    Jain’s fasting Days

    Last Year (2015) Not Specific
    Present Year (2016) Not Specific
    Next Year (2017) Not Specific

    Introduction:- Jainism which shares ideas with both Hinduism and Buddhism is a Non violence, Self purity and Fasting religion.  Fasting is done to purify mind, body and to maintain self control. It also reduces their sins and clean their karma.

    Why this much fasting?

    Jain fasting events are for renunciation, austerities, to study scriptures, repetition of holy hymths, meditation and expressing their devotion for the Paramatma(God). Control over the mind is the major aim.

    There are different types of fasting in order to have strong emphasis on austere living which are as follows:

    1. Santhara: basically stand for ” complete fasting”. In this, Jainism who have completed his or her duties on earth and wish to leave peacefully with the intention of preparing for voluntary death, undertake this fast by giving up food and water.
    2. Partial Fasting: This leads to eat just that much to avoid hunger.
    3. Vruti Sankshep: In this, number of items are reduced
    4. Rasa parityag: Jainism gives up their favorite dishes.
    5. Great fasts: Following Lord Mahavir, Jainism fat for a month or more.
    6. Varsitap: This fast follows eating in alternate days on specific time like nottaking food after sunset.
    7. Chauvihar Upvas: Fast is for one day in which nothing should be eaten.
    8. Digambar Upvas: Before sunset, one can drink water once in a day.
    9. Shvetamber Upvas: Before sunset, one can drink water after Porsi.
    10. Tivihar upvas: Jainism can drink boiled water in between sunset and sunrise.
    11. Ekasanu: To eat meal once in a day
    12. Ayambil: Selective fasting food is eaten once in a day.
    13. Bela/Chhath: To give up food and water for 2 days.
    14. Tela/Aththam: To give up food and water for 3 days like in Paush Dashami festival(Birthday of Bhagwan Parshwanath).
    15. Aththai: To give up food and water for 8 days. During this, some mediation, recitation worshipping parmatama with full devotion is done. Paryushan festival is celebrated with Aththai.
    16. Masaksaman: To give up food and water for a month. This austerity is very tough.
    17. Porsi: To take meal 3 hours after sunrise.
    18. Sadh-porsi: To take meal 4 hours and 30 min after sunrise.
    19. Purimuddh: To take meal 6 hours after sunrise.
    20. Vardhaman Tap: This austerity is for 20 days which involve the ayambil and then fasting. It leads to daily and step by step progress which finally helps in achieving the goal.
    21. Upadhan: Word exactly means exalted spiritual endeavors and worship. This austerity is performed in 3 parts separately for 47 days , 35 days and 28 days.this covers fasting on one day and next day Ekasanu with murmuring Navkar Mantra and Jain sutras. This austerity is tough and prolonged.

    Along with fasting, Jainism also follow Abhayantar tap which is said to be internal austerities of mind. They are of 6 kinds:

    1. Prayaschit (means Atonement): this austerity is for those who knowingly or unknowingly did something wrong. One must take strong commitment not repeat and say “Michchami Dukkadam”.
    2. Vinay (for Politeness): speak politely to elders.
    3. Vaiyavachch (to serve): one should serve devotional and help to ascetics, virtuous people, Sadhus, colleagues and especially to sick and needy persons.
    4. Vyutsarg (basically the attachment for the body): Involves meditation
    5. Swadhyay (for studies): to learn, study and concentrate on inspiring books to attain self realization.
    6. Dhyan (for Meditation): to improve concentration power.

    This leads to whole body and soul relaxation.