Yogi Adityanath is to be the next chief minister of Uttar Pradesh


Exactly after a week of winning a landslide mandate in the country’s most populous state, the BJP has announced the name of Yogi Adityanath as the next chief minister of Uttar Pradesh.  State unit chief Keshav Prasad Maurya and Lucknow mayor Dinesh Sharma have been named as deputy chief ministers of Yogi Adityanath.

At a meeting in the capital city Lucknow, BJP legislators chose Adityanath after a close race among several chief ministerial candidates. He will take oath as UP chief minister on Sunday.In the previous week, it was buzzing around that the BJP top brass may pick Telecom Minister of State, Manoj Sinha for the coveted post, as he is very much experienced in the party contribution.

Apart from this Keshav Prasad Maurya, union ministers Kalraj Mishra and Lucknow mayor Dinesh Sharma were also in the race to be the Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh.

Forty-six years old Yogi Adityanath is a five-time Member of Parliament who is believed to be the BJP’s hardline Hindutva face. He has also been representing Gorakhpur in the Lok Sabha since 1998. If you are planning to travel across Gorakhpur

The head priest of the Gorakhnath temple, Yogi Adityanath was chosen because he was assessed to be the most popular leader of BJP in that state.

His supporters raised slogans at the party office in Lucknow demanding that Mr. Adityanath must be named Chief Minister. Yogi Adityanath had quickly distanced himself from the supporters giving warning of taking strict action.

The party has attempted a balancing act by appointing Mr. Maurya and Mr. Sharma as his deputies. Keshav Prasad Maurya is a leader from the Most Backward Castes which played a significant role in the BJP’s spectacular UP win this year. The party would like to retain the new Most Backward Castes, Other Backward Castes, and Dalit voters to seek re-election in 2019.

The future Chief Minister held a meeting with UP BJP chief Keshav Prasad Maurya, Om Mathur, Bhupendra Yadav, and Sunil Bansal to discuss the present and future situation.

As soon as Mr. Adityanath was announced as the Chief Minister he said, “I am thankful to the party and Prime Minister Modi for considering me worthy of the post. I will take UP forward with his motto of sabka saath sabka vikas.”

After winning the three-fourths majority in the 403-member Uttar Pradesh Legislative Assembly, the BJP is returning to power after 14 long years.